Meet Anambra state candidates for November 18 Governorship election

INEC shortlists 37 candidates for Anambra guber election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the names of all candidates for the November 18 Anambra state governorship election.

The Commission, in a statement by its Director of Publicity, Mr Oluwole Osaze-Uzzi, said the candidates included five women, and eight vying for the office of Deputy Governor.

The governorship candidates are:

Willie Obiano(APGA):

Mr Willie Obiano, is the incumbent governor, with his deputy Nkemakonam Okeke, on the platform of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

Oseloka Obaze(PDP):

Mr Oseloka Obaze is contesting on the platform of the PDP, with Chidi Onyemelukwe, , as his running mate.

 Tony Nwoye(APC):

Mr Tony Nwoye is contesting on the platform of the APC, with Dozie Arinze, as his running mate.

Nwezi Amechi(AGAP)

Mr. Nwezi Amechi and his running mate Okeke Njideka, , are contesting on the platform of the All Grand Alliance Party (AGAP).

Ms Oby Okafor(ACD):

Ms Oby Okafor,   and her running mate Mr. Onyekwuluje Uzoma are candidates for Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD)

Osita Chidoka(UPP):

Former Minister of Aviation, Osita Chidoka, is also carrying the flag of United Progressive Party (UPP), with Okeke Ogbonnaya as his running mate.

The rest of the political parties with candidates on the list include Alliance Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), African Democratic Congress (ADC), Action Alliance (AA) and Action Democratic Party (ADP).

Others are APDA, African People’s Party (APP), Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP), Democratic Alternative (DA), Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC), Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), Hope Democratic Party (HDP) and Kowa Party.

The Labour Party (LP), as well as Masses Movement Of Nigeria (MMM), Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP), National Democratic Liberty Party (NDLP) and United Democratic Party (UDP) also have candidates.

Candidates of National Conscience Party (NCP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Nigeria Peoples Congress (NPC), National Unity Party (NUP) and People for Democratic Change (PDC) were also successful.

Also listed as parties with candidates are the Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA), Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Social Democratic Party (SDP) and United Progressive Party (UPP).

The rest are Young Democratic Party (YDP) and Young Progressive Party (YPP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.